We equip marketing leaders
Salesforce standard configuration includes a set of sales stages that represent the key steps in the sales process. The stages can be customized to match the specific needs and priorities of a business, but generally follow a standard set of descriptions. Here’s a more detailed look at the standard sales stages in Salesforce:
  • 1

    Prospecting: This is the initial stage of the sales process, where the salesperson identifies potential leads and begins to establish contact with them. This stage may involve outreach via phone, email, or social media.

  • 2

    Qualification: In this stage, the salesperson begins to qualify the lead by determining if the lead has a budget, decision-making authority, need, and timeline (BANT). This stage may also involve setting up a meeting with the lead to gather more information and begin building a relationship.

  • 3

    Needs Analysis: In this stage, the salesperson conducts a needs analysis to identify the lead’s pain points, challenges, and goals. The salesperson may also provide some initial insights and education to the lead, positioning themselves as a trusted advisor.

  • 4

    Value Proposition: In this stage, the salesperson presents the value proposition of their solution to the lead. The salesperson will highlight the unique features and benefits of their solution, and explain how it can address the lead’s specific needs

  • 5

    Id. Decision Makers: In this stage, the salesperson works to identify the key decision makers within the lead’s organization. The salesperson may ask the lead for introductions, conduct research, and engage with the decision makers to build relationships and understand their needs.

  • 6

    Proposal: In this stage, the salesperson presents a proposal or solution that addresses the lead’s pain points and needs. The proposal may include pricing, product or service information, and other details.

  • 7

    Negotiation: In this stage, the salesperson and the lead engage in negotiations around the proposal. This may involve discussing pricing, contract terms, or other details.

  • 8

    Closed Won/Lost: In this final stage, the salesperson either closes the deal and the lead becomes a customer (Closed Won), or the lead decides not to move forward with the proposal (Closed Lost).

The Salesforce standard configuration also includes additional stages for lead management, such as Lead Assigned, Contacted, Qualified, and Unqualified. These stages are used to manage leads throughout the sales process, from initial outreach to qualification and beyond.
Overall, the Salesforce standard configuration provides a structured framework for managing the sales process, from initial outreach to closed deal. By customizing the sales stages to match their specific needs and priorities, businesses can create a tailored sales process that maximizes their chances of success.